Life on the road as a Moda Rep!

Hi there, my name is Wendy and I’m one of the lucky people who get to sell lovely Moda fabric ranges to stores in the UK for you. My area covers Scotland, Ireland and Northern England, so I get to travel far and wide visiting some quite inspiring Quilt Shops along the way and I thought you might like to hear more about them. 

Last week, I was in Ireland. I started the week off travelling to Limerick Quilt Centre in Co Limerick, Ireland. Owned by Maeve Meaney and managed very ably by Karen, with the delightful Fabien assisting too. When I got their, there was a tour bus outside and I walked in to find the shop full of women from different parts of America, Canada and even I think New Zealand. 

They seemed to have a great visit and gradually left to go on with their tour, leaving us free to get on with the business of looking at new fabric ranges. I was there to show ranges that they wouldn’t see arrive till October, November and some even deliver January next year, so not an easy task for any shop owner. Remembering what you’ve ordered and making sure you offer a good selection for your customers is not that easy and Moda always has so much to choose from, I really do not envy them. 

Next morning I visited the Lismore Quilt Company, in Lismore, County Waterford. Owned and run by Aine Kavanagh. Her shop is in a converted barn, lovingly adapted for her by her husband and with its big glass front windows looking into her classroom/shop, it really is gorgeous and if your ever in that part of Ireland, you really should go visit.


As you travel to Lismore from Limerick you can go over the mountain road called, The Vee and the views were spectacular last week. Large tree like bushes of purple flowers lined my route as I travelled. It really was a gorgeous sight to behold.

These purple flowers were everywhere you looked

After I left Aine, I travelled on to see Ruth Murray who runs a small craft business called Hearts Creations, offering classes and workshops using her own unique designs such as this tea cosy she showed me.

working away in Ruths classroom

After I left Ruth it was a mad dash along the road to Midleton, Co Cork to visit Moya Geraghty of Patchwork Plus. I meet Moya in her shop and workroom by her house in Lower Aghada, but she has a classroom and shop up the road in Midleton too. She is in such a beautiful spot and no matter what the weather the view is always stunning. 

view from Moya’s shop in Aghada, Co Cork

Wednesday saw me all the way up the road to Tuam, Co Galway to visit Roisin McManus in The Quilt Shop, Tuam. Roisin and her assistant Eva run the business from the aptly named, Shop Street in Tuam and have a delightful mix of everything Quilting with knitting and crochet thrown in too. 

Soon I was on my way again though back to meet with the owner of online business Fluffy Sheep Quilting. This cute named little business is run by Cindy Coleman and her recent claim to fame was appearing on a Moda Fabric range designed by Sweetwater. Cindy’s name was sent in by one of her customers, when Sweetwater put out a call for people to nominate their favourite quilt business and the lucky ones would be featured on one of the fabric’s in their line.

Thursday morning I was in Co Monaghan, Ireland to visit with the owner of Just Sew Now, in Clones, Co Monaghan. Eleanor Carlton recently started her online shop and is in the exciting stages of getting her business known and loved. She showed me her workroom and the gorgeous converted cow shed, her father has modified for her storeroom/shop to work from. For someone not long in business, she certainly has a delightful selection of fabric’s, so much so that even I was tempted and just had to get some. Oh the curse of all this temptation in my job! Such a horrible job.

Then it was back in my car and back up to Belfast to meet with Clare at Quilters Quest, in Woodstock Road, Belfast. Quilters Quest is a well established business, offering classes most days and the upstairs of the shop is home to 2 long arm quilting machines, where Yvonne, Clare’s mum offers custom or computerised quilting options. This shop is a must on your quilting tour of Ireland and is always a hive of activity when I call.

Friday morning loomed really quickly this week and soon I was visiting my last shop of this trip, The Wool Shop, Newtownards. Janelle McQueen and her husband run the business, taking over where her mother, Betty Topping left of when she retired. It is predominately wool in the front of the shop, but if you venture further to the back of the shop it opens out into an Aladdins cave of everything quilting. Janelle and her husband have recently updated their range so they not offer lovely ranges, but also offer a good selection of basic’s too. The result is a shop well worth visiting.

Then it was off to the port of Belfast to catch the ferry homeward to Stirling in central Scotland. Get home for a well earned rest and a few nights in my own bed before this weeks travels begin all over again.

Stop by again and I tell you some more!

Leave a Reply

